Blog Hop – The Next Big Thing

Posted: October 17, 2012 in blog tours

October 17th Blog Hop – The Next Big Thing
I’d like to thank Eva Marquez, SweetestTabooBook.com/blog/ for inviting me to the blog hop. It was a lot of fun. As a part of this blog hop, check out the other authors below who are also participating in this today.

Find out more info on Eva’s latest release, Sweetest Taboo. Click here.

What is the working title of your book?

My next installment in the Vampire from Hell series. It’s called “The Vampire from Hell Returns (The Vampire from Hell Part 4)”

Where did the idea come from for the book?

A t-shirt actually. Around 2010 I had been brainstorming on an idea for a paranormal book. At the time I was taking a writing fiction class and I thought of an idea. What if Satan turned one of his daughters into a vampire in Hell? And what if she was a fan of mankind, not interested in his quest for world domination? What would she be like? Meet Rayea, the Vampire from Hell. Oddly enough this idea hit me when I bought a t-shirt at Wal-Mart. It had the phrase “Zombie Vampires from Hell” on it so that turned into “The Vampire from Hell.” This is what it looks like and I still wear it actually 🙂

What genre does your book fall under?

I’d say it’s Paranormal Fantasy, but many people tell me it’s also Young Adult. I’d say both genres are possible because I get emails from a wide range of people, usually an age range of 13-year-old on up.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Hahaha, I haven’t thought of that, but I suppose since I do base many of my characters on celebrities I’m intrigued with, I’d say I already have a cast list. This is just my idea of the characters. Anyone who reads my series may have a different idea for who each character could be played by. Here we go:

For the bad guys, I asked my readers to help me select possible actors for Rayea’s evil sister, Stephanie and her father, Satan. Here’s who they picked:

Stephanie could be played by any of these actresses – Genevieve Padalecki, Milla Jovovich, Uma Thurman or Rooney Mara.

Satan/Lucifer could be played by any of these actors – Michael Sheen, Al Pacino, Ron Perlman or Peter Stormore

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Rayea is a daughter of Satan, and a vampire. But she’s on our side.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

A few months

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Maybe Twilight or the Sookie Stackhouse novels by Charlaine Harris.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I took a short story class at a local college in the summer of 2010. By the end of December, I had a polished short story of 20 pages that I thought was a nice piece of work. My writing instructor was a published author of paranormal romance. She had gotten published the traditional way (getting her manuscript accepted by a major publishing house). When she read my story, she startled me with two observations: 1) She had enjoyed reading my story, and 2) She suggested my looking into publishing it online. “Publishing Ebooks is the up and coming thing,” she said.

I shared this news with my writing friends and asked if they had thought of publishing their books as ebooks on sites like Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Smashwords. I couldn’t sit still with the new information I’d received (literally). Seeing a book I wrote on the Amazon.com site was a wonderful notion. And I could do it all on my own? I could help my friends get their manuscripts published as ebooks. It was possible! It was a great spark I needed to ignite my dream again.

With getting a friendly push from that writing instructor, I decided to get the short story published. I approached Smashwords.com and published through their site as an Indie Author. Published in January 2011, Part 1 is 20 pages and that is the original short story that started the Vampire from Hell series. Had I not met that instructor while being in her writing class, I probably would still be struggling to gather the courage to “put myself out there.”

I will have to say that it’s the first thing I learned about Independent Publishing and I really stress to other writers who want to get published. There are ways now to get published without going through the traditional publishers. You can’t think too long about waiting or sitting on the sidelines, hoping for the right time, or wondering if someone will buy your book. You have to just do it and “put yourself out there.” Some people like my series and my characters and some don’t. And for me, that’s okay. My readers love my books and that’s good enough for me.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I’ve been told my series is a new twist on the vampire myth and I think it is too. How many vampire books do you know of with a vampire forged in Hell who fights for the good guys?

Thanks so much for stopping by and please check out these authors’ posts this week for October the 17th as we continue The Next Big Thing Blog Hop.

Lindsay Avalon – Lindsayavalon.blogspot.com
Emily Walker – Selfpublishordie.com
Virginia Wright – Virginiawright.com/blog
Wendy Ely – Wendyely.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

