My Journey into Independent Publishing

Posted: August 30, 2012 in Interviews/Features, My Journey into the Indie Publishing World

Today on Wendy Ely’s blog I’m discussing “My Journey into Independent Publishing.”

A few excerpts are included below. Click here to read the full article.

My journey into the world of Independent Publishing in 2011 wasn’t a planned event in my life.  I became an Indie Author before I knew what I was doing really.  I jumped the gun, let’s say, and I’m glad I did.

###

If I had taken the traditional steps to get into the world of publishing, I would not be a published author today.  Independent publishing through sites like Smashwords, Barnes and Noble, and Amazon turned me into a published author overnight.  I don’t regret that rather spontaneous decision one bit.

I have dreamed of being a writer since I was a teenager.  And I’ve always dreamed of writing vampire fiction since I read Anne Rice’s “Interview with the Vampire” when I was 15.

###

Somewhere during late 2010, I grew stubborn about completing my goal.  I told those little doubtful voices in my head to “Sit down and shut up.”  Let’s see what happens, I thought.  “So what if I get laughed at or get dozens of awful reviews for my story.  Maybe someone will read it and like it.  Maybe they’ll want to read more about Rayea, my vampire from Hell.  Besides I won’t know if I don’t try.”

I was tired of letting a million excuses surface in my brain to remind me I wasn’t good enough to be a writer and that I didn’t have anything new to say.
Short story or not, I wanted to get published.  Period.  I’m usually not like that.  The old Ally would have waited and completed a full hundred thousand word book, writing for years on a manuscript she wasn’t sure anyone would even like, contemplating every aspect of every step in the writing and publishing process, while the demons of doubt danced around in her head.

The new Ally, the one you know today, did something else.  She published a 20 page short story in January 2011 as a Free part of a new series called “The Vampire from Hell.”  She crossed her fingers, threw caution to the wind, duck taped the mouths of the demons racing around in her head shut, and prayed for positive feedback.

Comments
  1. Gale says:

    Your comments are very uplifting. I started writing a book several years ago. I let several coworkers read it, and one shared it with a male friend. I received all encouraging remarks for me to hurry and publish, however; on the last chapter I got cold feet. You have encourage me to go foward.

Leave a Reply

