Awaiting Judgment Day – A Vampire on Vacation (Part 3) Sample

Posted: April 2, 2012 in samples, The Vampire from Hell (Part 3) - A Vampire on Vacation, The Vampire from Hell series

The Vampire from Hell (Part 3) – A Vampire on Vacation is scheduled to be released the last week of May 2012.

Please Note: The following sample may or may not be the final version that is included in the edition on the release date.

Sometimes even vampires have to pay from their sins. I suppose my case is no different than anyone else’s. Not knowing exactly why I had been summoned to the Golden Skull Bar in San Francisco only added to my concerns. I’d racked up a list of ‘sins’ while vacationing on Earth if the truth be told, so it didn’t surprise me when I finally received the text from J. I knew I’d probably be brought in for a meeting  before I started my job. Maybe I’d get a scolding or a good dressing down, but this? It didn’t make sense.

J was a very efficient sort of guy, especially when it came to his team, so I suppose I should have listened to Death when he had told me to behave myself. I wasn’t thinking really when he had said that to me in Blick’s living room at the House of G. I was focused on getting to Earth, being granted a vacation before I took my job with J’s team, finally meeting my online friends, and maybe even doing a little friendly stalking of our actor, Ashton Taylor. Who knew I’d actually get to meet him? We’ll get to that when I have my meeting with Death. Don’t worry. I get to tell him all the details. So no, I wasn’t thinking about how I’d feed while on Earth. It was the farthest thing from my mind. Yes, even with my being a vampire, I think about other things than just blood. Call me silly, but I do have a life. Forgive me, I’m getting irritable. As I was saying…

Why was J sending Death? Was I really about to die? A vampire forged out of Hell.  Could I be killed?

Immediately the painful memory of the mind meld J had given me during our conversation at Blick’s home surfaced at the back of my skull. Would dying feel like that? I visualized my brain turning to a globby mess of orange jello and oozing out of my ears. “It probably would be alot like that,” I muttered.

I clicked my tongue against my fangs, letting the tip outline the length of the left, then the right. They were waiting patiently for some action as they hid in their holding cavities in the roof of my mouth. How many months had it been without having blood, more precisely, without having Michael’s blood? What had they expected me to do? Just not feed?!

You’ve been a bad girl, Rayea. There’s no doubt about that,” the voice inside my head admitted.

“Shut up,” I said aloud again. “How was I supposed to know?! What do you want from me?!”

A few other customers at the main bar glanced over at where I sat near the exit door in Max’s bar. The wooden table nested in the very back had become my writing desk, my gathering spot with friends, and now my trial bench. “Or was that bench trial?” I questioned the thin air.

Realizing I was talking to myself, I lowered my head slightly, gritting my teeth. I wanted to have a full-on conversation with the voice inside my head, debating ever side of the story including my own while I sat waiting in the bar. But I knew from seeing the looks the aimlessly wandering homeless folks got as they passed by the bar on their way to Golden Gate park that talking to myself in public was strictly frowned upon on Earth.

###

Leave a Reply

