You Guys Are My Inspiration!

Posted: June 5, 2011 in My Journey into the Indie Publishing World, reviews

Part 1 at 6,000 Downloads

Last month, the first installment of the Vampire from Hell series went live on Amazon as a FREE Kindle eBook. Every few weeks I get reports and can see how it’s doing out there among you.  Today, I discovered that The Beginning: Part 1 crossed the 6,000 download mark.  Six thousand of you have downloaded this first installment, just on Amazon alone! That’s not a typo, and yes, I had to pick myself up off the floor after reading that. I’m still blown away with the success this short (at 6,155 words) is having.

When I started this journey into the Indie Publishing World in January, I didn’t realize that this story, what started out as a short story no less, would be very popular. I’m among a worldwide group of friends who love vampire fiction.  It hasn’t gotten old for us and with that in mind, I’m in the process of outlining and writing the following books for the Vampire from Hell series. You can read a sample from A Vampire Among Angels – The Vampire from Hell here.

Upcoming

As 2011 marches on, I wanted to let you know that I’ve gotten clearance (cover art and titles are finalized) for the next books in this series. The third installment will be released this winter, followed by the fourth in spring 2012.  Of course, both books will be much longer than the first installment.

Thank You to my Fans

I want to thank all of you who have read this first story of Rayea’s. Thank you again for such a wonderful reception. More and more emails are showing up in my inbox as many of you take the time to contact me after reading Part 1. In our busy world, I find this gesture to be a big bonus, one I thoroughly appreciate!  Your feedback reminds me that others are out there, enjoying the same types of story elements I like to find in paranormal fiction, whether it’s romance, fantasy, or science fiction.

One fan asked me the other day where I get my inspiration from? I wasn’t sure when I first read the email, but then it dawned on me.  I get my inspiration from you guys, from others who are reading Rayea’s story and like what they read, and want to read more.  That may sound sort of silly, but it’s true.

Like Rayea, I too love the internet, my iPhone, and my laptop.  I’m never that far away from em.  I talk with a lot of friends online.  I’m even finding it to be a challenge somedays to disconnect myself from Facebook, or Tumblr, or Twitter and just write.  If you’re the same way, you know where I’m coming from.  It’s a connection to others that spans the globe.

So yeah, I discovering that I gain a lot of my strength from you guys.  Just knowing that so many people have enjoyed the idea of Rayea as Satan’s daughter, a daughter who doesn’t like her father in the least.  She instead is a fan of mankind, and a vampire.  No one online has told me that they think that idea is silly, not yet. I can’t say that about a few “friends” from the real world who I pitched the idea to a few years ago.  They thought it was absurd and ridiculous, certainly something I wouldn’t want to write about. Good thing I didn’t listen to those people.  I went with my own instincts and decided to just go for it.

I received this email today from a new fan (see graphic – note I modified the email address and person’s name for privacy) and I’m still humbled by his comments. It put a spring in my step!  I’ve been a fan of Anne Rice’s books, especially the Vampire Chronicles, from the day I bought “Interview with the Vampire” in a small bookstore in New Orleans near Jackson Square. I carried it around with me for many months, reading and re-reading my favorite passages.  I have to admit I did get some weird looks because at that time authors weren’t writing about vampires.  Guess you could say vampires hadn’t mainstreamed into the world of fiction.  But I didn’t care.  I read every one of Rice’s books, elated when the latest in the Vampire Chronicles would hit the bookstores.  Secretly I suppose, I dreamed that one day I too would write a vampire novel, maybe even figure out some cool character like Lestat who had a story to share with the world.

Clarificaiton

Now please don’t misunderstand me. I’m not comparing myself to Anne Rice.  I could never do that.  I don’t attempt to pontificate that I’m an incredible writer or celebrated author.  I wouldn’t be able to get my head through the door if I had that large of an ego.  It’s not who I am.  Simply put, I enjoy writing.  I especially enjoying writing stories about vampires, or werewolves, or witches, or… you get the idea.  And if you guys wanna read what I write, then there it is.  We’re in this together.  And thanks for signing up for the journey!

This year, 2011 is the start of my first series.  Next year, I’ll write another set. I already have an idea where Rayea and her friends can sail on to from here. But I’m not gonna tell you about that just yet 🙂  You’ll have to wait and see.

Back to writing …

Comments
  1. Shawne says:

    I absolutely LOVE book 1!!! I can’t wait for part 2 and so on!!! It’s great!! I have always had an interest in ANYTHING paranormal in any way and am I guess you could say am drawn to anything related to it. Often like an uncontrolled pulling of sorts in my gut to things in that area. Strange isn’t it, or maybe I’m just nuts!! Either way, the book is awesome, keep up the good work!

    • ally thomas says:

      Thanks, Shawne! I know what you mean. I too have always loved all of that stuff too! Before they had a name for it in fiction. LOL! Greek gods, Egyptian mummies, vampires, the list goes on and on. That’s why writing about vampires, werewolves, etc is what I love to do. Thanks for reading Part 1! More is on its way 😀

Leave a Reply

